Monthly Archives: April 2015

California’s On-Duty Meal Period – Not a Waiver of a Meal Period!

Under California law, employees are required to take an off-duty 30-minute meal period before the end of the 5th hour of work. Employees who work less than 6 hours may waive the 30-minute meal period by mutual consent of the employee and employer. Employees who work more than 10 hours are required to take a second off-duty 30-minute meal period before the end of the 10th hour of work. Employees who work no more than 12 hours may waive the second 30-minute meal break by mutual consent of the employee and employer only if the first meal break was not …

[ CONTINUE READING ]

Posted in California \ 1 Comment

Don’t Turn Unemployment Compensation Into Unemployment Complication

Unemployment comp.  Not the sexiest of topics.  But I get a lot of questions from employers on the issue, the appropriate resolution of which would spare me a lot of stress when a termination-related case lands on my desk.  (After all, this is all about me, right?) The proper handling of unemployment compensation claims also might save an employer – and its EPLI carrier – a fair bit of moolah if the termination ends up the subject of litigation.  So, even if you don’t care about my well-being, you’ll still want to read on. Should Employers Appeal UC Decisions? First, …

[ CONTINUE READING ]